My Baby Sister!

Standard

My family is unique, yet special to me. It is my mom, dad, me and my 3-year-old sister. It is more common to have a step-parent in the family when there is a gap in age between the siblings. That is what makes my family different.

My mom was not to have any more children. So her being pregnant was a shock to everyone, even the doctors. My grandmother was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s and passed away the same week that my mother found out that she was pregnant. She was such an amazing grandmother, so we named my sister after her, Chloe Jo. I was a junior in high school when my sister was born. I guess I did not really know what to expect. I have been around babies before but never thought I would have one as a sister. When I tell people that I have a 3-year-old sister, people are always shocked and ask how we do it. Well that answer is simple, we just do. Now, I am not saying that it was easy because times were tough, but we always make it work.

When I was growing up, I was daddy’s girl. Not just daddy’s girl, but the one girl in my whole family. On both sides of my family, there are only boy cousins. So life wasn’t too shabby being the only girl. Growing up I always wanted a sibling, like a little sister I could dress up and play with. I never expected it to be when I was sixteen years old, and neither did my family. At first I didn’t know what to think when it came to not being the only girl. Would she do all the daddy daughter things that I did with my dad. That idea disappeared pretty quickly when I met her! She as my sister and I didn’t care, she was amazing.

When you have a best friend, you have a bond with them. You might call your best friend your sister, or maybe your other half. Growing up as the only child, I had many “sisters,” but never a real one. When you have a real sister, it is like a different relationship; a better one. I could not imagine out family without Chloe. We would be incomplete without her. Four musketeers is a lot better than three musketeers in my opinion.

I can’t wait until Chloe is old enough to really need me as her friend, to call me up when she is having boy trouble, or just needs to talk. It is going to be so amazing when I am her go-to girl. One of my favorite things Chloe says right now is when she says, “I love you sissy,” and it’s out of the blue. You can’t help but smile and get so happy when a 3-year-old lets you know how much she cares. She is a wonderful part of our family, and I would never change anything about her; she is one of a kind.

2 responses »

  1. I think it’s so cool how much you love your little sister. I will also say that is a highly respectable quality Jordan. I am glad God did not put a little girl in our family because between my brother and me, she would never have a boyfriend ha ha. I like your blog though and that is really cool and the picture is a good one too. 🙂

  2. This is very interesting. I have the same issue with my family. My parents have been married since they were 18 and have been together even longe;r they grew up together and also went to the same catholic church and school. They are now in their mid 60s and have 5 children, ages 44, 39, 38, 23 and 21 years of age. I am the youngest and already have 12 neices and nephews. which range from 6 months to 25. It makes for a closer family and a bond that most don’t get to have. t is like having two sets of parents with my oldest sister having 3 childrean all older than me. It was a blessing to be in this family and I don’t take it for granted at all.
    Your family is so blessed as well and will appriciate life so much more than others may!

Leave a Reply

